Carlos M. Headshot

Carlos M.

Financial Analysis Lead

Budget and Financial Analysis

How long have you worked at Neighborhood, what do you do here and what part of your job do you most enjoy?
I have worked in the Finance department at Neighborhood for about two years. I started as a data analyst on the Actuarial Services team and was promoted in the fall of 2022 to the role of financial analysis lead on the Budget and Financial Analysis team. The thing I enjoy the most about my position is being able to interact with different departments to understand the “whys” behind the numbers.

What did you do before joining Neighborhood?
Before joining Neighborhood, I held a variety of positions in different industries including hospitality, education, and healthcare. The combination of these industries has helped me become detail-oriented, which is necessary for my current position, especially when reviewing documents provided to and from the state.

Of all the projects you have worked on at Neighborhood, do any stand out as being especially meaningful?
I have not been involved in any committees or projects within Neighborhood but I know the work that we do daily impacts the members one way or another. Whether it be looking at the best rate to provide the members or brainstorming with other departments. These are ways that we provide the best care to our members.

Tell us a little bit about the years you spent growing up – sharing what helped shaped your future.  
I grew up just outside of Malibu, California and moved to Lexington, Kentucky when I was 14 years old due to my father’s job. Growing up in a Hispanic household, one of our family traditions around the holidays was to make homemade tamales. Think of an assembly line, where each member of the family had a task…from making the masa to laying down the banana leaves, to layering each tamale into the pan. I may not live in California anymore but my grandmother will send me tamales, fresh from the latest batch. When the first bite hits, it takes me back to when I was a child.

At 25 years old, my father had just moved to Massachusetts and I was laid off from my job, so I decided to leave everything behind in Kentucky and venture just outside of Worcester, Mass. I have been in New England for seven years now and reside with my partner just outside of Worcester.

What do you like to do when you’re not working?
I love to cook and enjoy entertaining friends and family at our house. I like to experiment with different recipes, as well as create my own. I also love to play and watch tennis and just recently, I started a social league in the Worcester area. My husband and I also love to travel and are always looking for our next adventure whether it be abroad or in the states.

Photo on left: Carlos and his husband, Ross, in Hawaii “hanging loose”, enjoying the sun and beach! Photo on right: Carlos during his first successful year as the Worcester Social League Coordinator.
Carlos and his husband, Ross, at their wedding reception.

Share a “Fun Fact” with us. Something about you that others might find surprising or intriguing?
My parents adopted my siblings and me at birth. They are both from different Hispanic backgrounds, and I am French Canadian. However, out of my siblings, I am the only one that can speak fluent Spanish. I studied abroad in Spain to immerse myself in Spanish culture.

Carlos and his family. (From left to right: Mom, Sister, Carlos, Dad and Brother)

What advice or recommendations would you give to someone interested in the type of career you are in? I have been in various industries throughout my career. My advice would be to try out new things and start conversations with people. You never know until you start a conversation with someone. I have a great support system behind me and they have always pushed me beyond my comfort level. I like to feel uncomfortable to feel comfortable.